Cape Fear
Green Building Alliance

National Green Building Standard

The National Home Builders Association certifies green homes based on standards developed in partnership with the International Code Council, the ICC 700 National Green Building Standard. Homes acquire points in 6 categories:

  • Lot Design 
  • Resource Efficiency 
  • Energy Efficiency 
  • Water Efficiency 
  • Indoor Environmental Quality 
  • Operation, Maintenance and Building Owner Education

Each category carries some mandatory requirements. Point values in each category and total score determine the level of certification awarded to the home:

  • Bronze
  • Silver 
  • Gold 
  • Emerald

The certification process requires an interim and final inspection by an accredited green verifier.

More about the National Green Building Standard

Find a participating builder

Platinum Sponsors